Career Navigator
CertificationBanking & Risk

Financial Risk Manager (FRM)

GARP’s two-part certification in market, credit, operational and liquidity risk.

Source: GARP — FRM exam information and steps to certificationView source(opens in a new tab)Verified: 2026-09-25Updated:

Type
Certification
Official body
Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP)
Typical duration
Not stated
Stages
2
Maths
High
Study commitment
Not stated

Overview

The Financial Risk Manager certification is awarded by the Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP). It consists of two multiple-choice exams: Part I, an equally weighted 100-question exam, and Part II, an equally weighted 80-question exam, with four hours allotted for each.

GARP’s exam pages state no educational prerequisite for sitting the exams. Certification, however, requires evidence of at least two years of relevant professional experience, submitted within ten years of sitting Part II.

Part I must be passed first, and GARP gives candidates four years from passing Part I to pass Part II.

Maths requirementHigh
Exam intensityHigh

Eligibility

  • Open entry — GARP states no educational prerequisite for the exams

    • Certification requires evidence of at least two years of relevant professional experience, submitted within ten years of sitting Part II
    • Part II must be passed within four years of passing Part I

    Source: GARP — FRM exam information and steps to certificationView source(opens in a new tab)Verified: 2026-09-25Updated:

Exam structure & syllabus

Current structure2026-01-01 – present

Part I1 paper

An equally weighted 100-question multiple-choice exam.

FRM Exam Part I

Multiple choice, computer-based · Four hours

  • Foundations of Risk Management

  • Quantitative Analysis

  • Financial Markets and Products

  • Valuation and Risk Models

Part II1 paper

An equally weighted 80-question multiple-choice exam, applying the tools from Part I.

FRM Exam Part II

Multiple choice, computer-based · Four hours

  • Market Risk Measurement and Management

  • Credit Risk Measurement and Management

  • Operational Risk and Resilience

  • Liquidity and Treasury Risk Measurement and Management

  • Risk Management and Investment Management

  • Current Issues in Financial Markets

Source: GARP — FRM exam information and steps to certificationView source(opens in a new tab)Verified: 2026-09-25Updated:

Skills & career outcomes

Skills this path uses

  • Market risk measurement and management
  • Credit risk measurement and management
  • Operational risk and resilience
  • Liquidity and treasury risk
  • Quantitative analysis and valuation models

Where it leads

  • Market risk analyst
  • Credit risk analyst
  • Treasury and liquidity risk
  • Model validation

Connected paths: CFA Program, Actuary (IAI)

Official resources

Frequently asked questions

Is there an education requirement to sit the FRM exams?

GARP’s exam pages state no formal educational prerequisite for taking the exams. What is required for certification is evidence of at least two years of relevant professional work experience, submitted within ten years of sitting Part II.

How long do I have between the two parts?

GARP states that candidates have four years from the date they pass Part I to take and pass Part II.